Gary Hand wins again after 6 years!

Congratulations to the 2014 winner of the David Bell Memorial Road Race Gary Hand!  This was Gary’s second win in the classic Scottish road race, having last won in 2008.

Gary Hand (KTM Rock and Trail) led a clean sweep of both primes on the ascents of Tairlaw and the Byne, and initiated a late attack from the leading group of 10 to win the 49th edition of the race from Andrew Whitehall (Glasgow Wheelers).

James McCallum showed he is still king of the sprints to take a fine third place.

A brilliant day of racing – full results and report to follow.

Top 5:

1 Gary Hand (KTM
2 Andrew Whitehall (Glasgow Wheelers)
3 James McCallum (NFTO)
4 Peter Murdoch (Paisley Velo RT)
5 Ben Greenwood (Leslie Bike Shop)


PS – unfortunately the official race photography team had to call off – therefore organising club Ayr Roads CC is appealing to anyone who has good images they are willing to share to please contact



One thought on “Gary Hand wins again after 6 years!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s