49th David Bell Memorial Results

On yet another typical sunny South Ayrshire day 46 riders signed on the 49th David Bell Memorial.  Among the pre-race favourites was Commonwealth Games rider James McCallum (NFTO), 2013 Scottish Road Champion Gary Hand (KTM road and trail) and perennial strong man  Ben Greenwood (Leslie Bike Shop).  Both Hand and McCallum came into the race as former champions, in 2008 and 2011 respectively.

With 82 miles of racing in store, and over 6400ft of climbing, it was sure to be a tough day in the saddle.  Once again the South Carrick Community put on great hospitality to welcome the riders to the Ayrshire Alps.


Photo Credit: John Doig 2014

The racing kicked off inVictory Park, Girvan at 13:00, with a neutralised section up the Byne Climb before a long fast descent to Bargreenan, much of which was covered at 40mph!  Gary Hand and Peter Murdoch (Paisley Velo) were instrumental in forcing the first move of the day, while a counter attack bridged the gap to create a leading group of 10 on the Glentrool – Tairlaw Road.

By the time the bunch had reached the Bell Memorial at Rowntree Toll the leaders had a 50second advantage.  What was looking fragile, coming down to 46 seconds on the slopes of Tairlaw Shalloch, quickly became a much more establish 1:30 by the time the group hit the Summit.  Hand was in dominant form, clearly snatching the prime in front of the assembled cycle spectators out enjoying the sunshine.

By the time the race reached Glenalla the gap was approaching 2mins for the first time.  All was not well in the chasing group as riders struggled to adjust to the gradient and there were clear arguements to be had between the riders on who was going to pick up the chase.

Photo credit: John Doig 2014

Photo credit: John Doig 2014

Come Barr and the Screws the leaders were now well over four minutes clear – the chase having really lost impetus on the valley floor road.  A fast approach through Girvan preceded the final circuit of the Byne – Assel Valley circuit where a number of digs whittled down the group to just 8 riders.  Again it was Hand who took top honours on the Byne Prime while McCallum and Murdoch were active protagonists on the descent, but noone get a clear gap until Hand broke away on the run into Victory Park, taking just Andrew Whitehall (Glasgow Wheelers) with him.  The rest looked to sprint star McCallum to chase, giving the leading duo an advantage into the uphill sprint finish.

After a day long dual it was Gary Hand who got to raise his arms aloft, while McCallum took the sprint for third.

Photo Credit: John Doig (Pedal Power RT) 2014

Photo Credit: John Doig (Pedal Power RT) 2014

A huge thanks from the organising club, Ayr Roads CC, to all the people who supported the event including South Ayrshire Council, all the event convoy team, marshals, first aid and NEG.

A huge thanks to John Doig too for kind permission to reuse his photos on the website.

2015 will mark the 50th edition of the race, and after a relatively ‘low key’ 2014 event, Ayr Roads CC are planning on coming back with something truly special to mark the occasions


49th David Bell Memorial Road Race 29th June 2014
Girvan, South Ayrshire
Promoted by Ayr Roads Cycling Club
Sponsored by South Ayrshire Council
Chief Commissaire: Paul Mullan
Race Organiser: Kenneth Armstrong
Overall Rider Team Time
1st Gary Hand KTM road-and-trail .com 03:12:44
2nd Andrew Whitehall Glasgow Wheelers ST
3rd James McCallum NFTO 00:04
4th Peter Murdoch Paisley Velo RT ST
5th Ben Greenwood Leslie Bike Shop / Bikes Boutique 00:05
6th Jack Barret Rigmar Racers ST
7th Mark Stewart Spokes Racing Team ST
8th Phillip Trodden Rigmar Racers 00:09
9th David Griffiths Glasgow Wheelers 04:30
10th Jason Roberts Glasgow Wheelers 04:33
11th Finlay Young Rigmar Racers 06:00
12th Bradley Stokes Pedal Power RT ST
13th Lewis Oliphant Rigmar Racers ST
14th Richard McDonald Velo Ecosse ST
15th Neil Scott Dundee Thistle 06:15
16th David Anderson Granite City RT ST
17th Jack Richards Deeside Thistle ST
18th David Reed Deeside Thistle ST
19th Jordan Doig Pedal Power RT 06:25
20th Kris Lindsay Edinburgh RC ST
21st Gary Davidson VS Astar Anderside ST
22nd Sean Noon Edinburgh RC ST
23rd Alister Watt Granite City RT ST
24th Mark Skilling Icarus Racing Team ST
25th Stuart MacGregor Dooleys Cycles .co.uk ST
26th Rob Cowie Aberdeen Wheelers ST
27th Greig Brown Dooleys Cycles .co.uk 06:30
28th Gavin Shuttleworth Speg-Project 51 06:32
29th Scott Johnston Bike Pure Lemond Aspire Velotec 06:40
30th Euan Pope Glasgow Road Club 06:42
31st Lewis Grieve Spokes Racing Team 10:16
32nd Alistair McNichol Dooleys Cycles .co.uk 10:27
33rd Mark Anderson Loudoun RC 11:51
34th Lewis Duff Glasgow Couriers ST
35th Malcolm Paterson Glasgow Nightingale 18:29
36th Andrew Bruce Kinross CC 19:52
37th Gavin Shirley Dooleys Cycles .co.uk 22:21
38th Mark McLean Out Of The Saddle 22:26
39th John Garland GJS Cruise Racing 22:35
40th Ross Clark Glasgow Ivy ST
Tairlaw Prime
1st Gary Hand KTM road-and-trail .com
Byne Prime
1st Gary Hand KTM road-and-trail .com
 Best U23
1st Jack Barret Rigmar Racers
Best 3rd Cat Rider
1st David Reed Deeside Thistle
Photo Credit: John Doig

Photo Credit: John Doig


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s