Race Info

2014 sees the 49th edition of the David Bell Memorial Road Race run around the hill roads of the Ayrshire Alps Cycling Park.  The event is supported by South Ayrshire Council and promoted by Ayr Roads Cycling Club.

Christopher Jennings wins the 47th South Carrick David Bell Memorial in Victory Park, Girvan

Christopher Jennings wins the 47th South Carrick David Bell Memorial in Victory Park, Girvan

This will be a ‘National B‘ event run as part of the Scottish National Road Race Series with a prize fund of more than £1000, a full race convoy and the same high organisation standard the race has come to be known for!  The event is open to Elite, 1st, 2nd and 3rd category riders.

This is the race that every Scottish cyclist wants to win, with an incredibly rich history and formidable reputation.  With a mix of grueling terrain a top competition, this is not a race for the weak!

The 49th edition of the David Bell Memorial Race will be run over a 130km course featuring the ascents of Tairlaw (Shalloch), Hadyard, the Screws and the Byne.  Based in and around Girvan, the race concludes with the now traditional lap of a circuit featuring the Byne and Assel Valley.

Known for being a hardman’s race, the 49th edition of the Davie Bell will not buck the trend with over 1400m of ascent.  However, with the 2013 edition finishing in a big group sprint the circuit suits the powerful rather than the pure climbers.

With the riders passing by Victory Park in Girvan three times this should make for a great spectator friendly race.  Add to that the beautiful views by the Bell Memorial at Rowntree Toll…  Look forward to the photos!


Enter online


Sign up now if your hold an E/1/2/3 or equivalent international racing licence.  Entry is available online at www.britishcycling.org.uk


We recognise that for many teams, Scotland is a major trek, so are working with local hotelliers to secure the best possible deals.

A full list of accommodation providers in the South Carrick Area can be found here.

Why race the Davie Bell?

We believe we have a truly unique event: fantastic scenery, challenging terrain, cycling history and most importantly the backing of an entire community.  This event is entirely community driven – the promoting club work very closely with local communities to ensure that everyone is involved, with the opportunity to develop and celebrate our own skills and talents.  This brings in local school children, students, social groups, sports clubs and more. 

Additionally, the race has a proven pedigree.  Former winners include Robert Millar, Jason MacIntyre, Evan Oliphant and James McCallum.  Our list of former ‘losers’ is equally prestigious. 

We want to see you at the 2013 Ayrshire Alps Classic, and are keen to open discussion with you to make this happen.

Click the link to view the 2013 Event Handbook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s